We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

Power dock vs Expansion Dock

• Hello Onion Community,
    I'm new to Onion Omega world
    Can some one explains to me please what is the different between Power dock vs Expansion Dock
    they looks very similer but the only different is USB-to-Serial Chip and i dont really what is this means
    i read the specs for both but i really need to understand is what i can do with one and can't do with anther
    I appreciate your explain with example
    Thank you

• Welcome to the community!

Please read the solved request first ... there is one next to your request where point to a wiki where shows the differences ....

• The answer to your question can be found here:
    Using the Power Dock (Differences from the Expansion Dock)

• @Luciano-S. thank you for your welcoming me
    i a straight way i can't understand what is USB-to-Serial Chip means
    which is the different between the two docks beside that the power dock has advantage of power by battery

• @fossette thank you for the reference i read it but i cant understand what is USB-to-Serial Chip means what is the capabilities of it.

• The main differences are:

1. Addition of battery management circuits and battery level indicator LEDs
    2. Addition of 2-pin JST-PH connector for batteries
    3. All circuit components are surface-mount
    4. No USB-to-Serial Chip
    5. No RGB LED
    1. You are not able to connect your omega with a USB cable. USB has just the function to connect power and charge the battery. But a serial connection where you can log in and make changes on your OS you will not have. You can just connect it over the Wireless Network. If you have trouble with that you need a other Dock to connect and login to your OS.

• @Zaghloul-Saad said in Power dock vs Expansion Dock:

i can't understand what is USB-to-Serial Chip means

Ah! Get it! Read on!