We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

Can't detect the samba share.[Resolved]

• @Enrico-Trevisanello I attempted to use the code you posted, and am getting an error.

uci set samba.@samba[0].interface='eth* 192.168.1.100/255.255.255.0'
    "uci: Parse error (invalid command) at line 3, byte 1"

• @Brad-Buskey oh sorry, I'm a beginner too and I don't know what's not working there. Actually, I edited the file /etc/config/samba directly using 'vi', this is how its general section looks like now:
    0_1486107516027_Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 08.37.59.png

• @Enrico-Trevisanello Sweet! That worked like a charm. showed up immediately after restarting the service.

However, while I can view, I cannot actually enter the directory. It will not accept my userid/password.

• Am I not able to connect as 'root'? Do I need to create a new user account in order to allow access?

• as i remember from playing around with samba, that you can grant the rights for root in the configuration. Just might be a security issue?!

• Thank you @Enrico Trevisanello!

The following worked for me:
    uci set samba.@samba[0].interface='eth* [YOUR_CLIENT_IP]/[SUB_NET_MASK]'
    uci commit samba
    /etc/init.d/samba restart

I'm currently on 0.1.9 b150 firmware if that helps.

• @Brad-Buskey yes! you have to! check (and modify) the the file /etc/samba/smb.conf.template
    this file is the template, as the name says itself, and is used to generate the actual config file /etc/samba/smb.conf every time the samba service starts (so also when you restart it).

• @Enrico-Trevisanello Thank you. It works. I edited the /etc/config/samba directly. added the interface.

• FYI: You can set '*' for the interfaces value, that way it will work for BOTH ethernet and wlan.

I also created a /shared directory and an smb user to manage all the samba files. This is what I have now:

root@Omega-72FF:~# cat /etc/config/samba