We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

Bluetooth discoverability with iPhone

• Hey all, this is my first attempt at anything IoT or Linux so I'm a level 1 newbie. The problem I'm having is that I can discover, pair and connect my Omega2+ to my Windows PC with external Bluetooth dongle but none of the 4 iPhones (different models and software) cannot discover the Omega. What am I missing?

I've got a shell script that starts up Bluetooth at boot. I've tried changing the class thinking that Apple will only connect to certain classes. That didn't do it. Any help? Thanks in advance!

• Hello! cool project you're working on there.

Sadly, I think it is complicated to pair bluetooth devices with Apple products. Here are their guidelines. I agree though, they are pretty vague about which class to set.
    If you have the specs for your BT dongle you can check if your device profile is supported.

I used to work on IoT devices that required BT and pairing was always the most difficult to get right. If you're willing to share your code, others might be able to reproduce your issue and help you debug it.

• Thanks Allison! I don't have much code currently. All I have is the following to start up the bluetooth module.

#!/bin/sh
    /usr/bin/hciconfig hci0 up
    /usr/bin/hciconfig hci0 piscan
    /usr/bin/hciconfig hci0 sspmode 1
    /usr/bin/hciconfig hci0 noauth
    /usr/bin/hciconfig hci0 leadv 0

The weird thing is that I can use bluetoothctl and pair from the Omega to the phone, but after rebooting the Omega it will not reconnect. I have to go in and pair it again from the Omega end.

Long story short my goal is to interface with canbus in my car and get control of some of the features that aren't easily accessible otherwise. I have a friend that is versed in Arduino and canbus, but not the Omega.