We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

RaspPi Zero W vs. O2+

• I just stumbled upon the Raspberry Pi Zero W, which at $10 is a good price match for the Omega2+ at $9.

I know there are the expansions and modules, but they all increase the price of the O2+ accordingly, so apart from those, what benefits does the O2+ have over the Pi Zero W?

• @cas i have not yet tried the raspbian stretch lite released last month , but my experience is that a tight minimal o/s for any of the rpi but particularly the rpi w boards has been hard to find. for that reason i'd favor omega2 but like i say, i have yet to try the newer lite offerings.

• @cas
    Is there a comparison to be made other than their size & O/S
    I'm new to using Omega 'kickstarter Backer' just starting to use it.
    Been using Raspberry Pi's for about 12 months, let's just say i've bought 'a lot'
    used as servers, digital photo frames, airplane tracking, Seismograph,
    Audio players, Retropie & RecalBox Game Consoles and VPN routers to name a few.
    Lots of amazing OS's out there for all versions of Pi and uses.
    I was hoping the Omega could give me something else to try.

• @krazy4it said in RaspPi Zero W vs. O2+:

@cas
    Is there a comparison to be made other than their size & O/S

Well, for one thing, the O2's are a lot easier to get ahold of in any quantity. As for the PiZero, it seems that unless you work for the foundation or one of their distributors, you can buy max 1 per order. Sadly, at $30+ per shipment for 1 PiZeroW, that's just ludicrous for my purposes. I've ordered one together with a bunch of other stuff to make the shipping costs worthwhile so I can experiment a bit.

In comparison, I just ordered 10x O2+'s and a couple of OLED expansions and paid shipping of $21. Much more accessible.