We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

2 LED on single GPIO

• I'm a programmer not an electronics guy so I've been playing with the projects in the project book and I have a question, with Omega2+. Is it possible to connect 2 LED to a single GPIO? My circuit would be:

GPIO1 --> 2 x LED in parallel, each LED is then connected to a separate 200 Ohm resistor, then each resistor connected to GND.

Is this any problem?

• It may be a problem because putting the LEDs in parallel means double the current compared to a single LED and the GPIO port might become overloaded.

To run them in parallel safely you need some kind of buffer/driver in between (eg a transistor/FET/Driver IC etc).

Traditionally, to run 2 LEDs at minimum current we would put them in series but then the voltage required to illuminate them will very likely exceed 3.3v and they won't light up - again a driver required.

What is the intended idea behind 2 LEDs from one port? There may be another solution...

• The voltage drop across the LEDs will be less than 1 volt. Two in series should work fine. Just reduce the size of the current-limiting resistor, if necessary. As stated above, two in parallel demands more current, which could be a problem. In series, the current lighting one LED is the same current lighting the second LED. The Omega won't know the difference.

• @Robert-Jensen 1v? Not quite there. Typical forward voltage of lowest - Red LED - is 1.8v so using two in series would be 3.6v which is just a tad short of the 3.3v available supply rail. Are you mixing it up with the forward drop of a typical silicon rectifier or transistor junction (0.6v)?