We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

Arduino and Omega

• Hi,

I'm an Arduino programmer who just ordered an Onion because it looks cool. How will it interface with Arduino? I see that it works with internet connected devices. Does it just pass messages back and forth or something? What do I do to make it work with a standard board - just send signals on the pins? Is there docs somewhere that will help me understand better?

Thanks,

Eric

• Hi @eric-marsh, the Arduino Dock interfaces with the Omega via I2C. The serial port from the Omega is also connected to the Arduino Dock. We are currently working on the following two things:

1. Allowing the Omega to flash firmware to the Arduino Dock
    2. Creating a library to abstract the interactions between Omega and Arduino Dock.

You can get Omega to communicate with regular Arduino boards by using I2C, or other communication protocols.

• @eric-marsh I too would like to know this - see https://community.onion.io/topic/52/arduino-dock-examples and https://onion.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/134

My understanding is that the Omega communicates with the Arduino Dock via I2C (from first link above):
    currently the Omega communicates with the Arduino Dock via I2C.

I also understand that documentation, tutorials, examples etc. for handling the Arduino Dock are still under development.

The Omega guys have a lot on their plate at the moment with the new releases and multiple questions (they are being very prompt and communicative in dealing with the questions), so I am just waiting patiently until it is available šŸ™‚