Total newbie scripting question

• I'm using the Omega to illuminate LEDs, and for this purpose software PWM works great. For example, the command-line command

fast-gpio pwm 14 200 25

lights a (red) LED connected to GPIO 14 at 25% duty cycle with a frequency of 200 Hz.

I have created a simple sh script ("red.sh) containing just a single line:

fast-gpio pwm 14 200 $1

so I can just type

red 25

at the command line to obtain the same results. Everything is working fine, but I'd like to do some range checking on the argument $1 to ensure that it is between 0 and 100 (duty cycle between 0% and 100%). I've tried things like

if [$1 < 0] then echo "value is under-range"
    else if [$1 > 100] then echo "value is over-range"
    else fast-gpio pwm 14 200 $1

but I keep getting errors. How do I accomplish this simple task? I've tried looking at various tutorials on "sh scripting" but nothing is working so far. I admit to being a total newbie at Linux and its variants, so I don't really know where to turn. I believe that the Omega is running a version of OpenWRT, but I haven't been able to uncover much about scripting in OpenWRT. Help!!

• administrators

@Jeff-Verive sh is really picky about the syntax, try the following:

if [ $1 < 0 ]
    then
       echo "value is under-range"
    elif [ $1 > 100 ] 
    then
       echo "value is over-range"
    else
       fast-gpio pwm 14 200 $1
    fi

A few things to note:

1. For the square brackets in your if statements, there needs to be a space after [ and a space before ]
    2. To create an else if you need to use the keyword elif
    3. The then after an if or elif needs to either be on the next line or have a semi-colon after the ]
    4. The whole thing has to be closed with a fi

• @Jeff-Verive see my request about starting with markdown ...
    https://community.onion.io/topic/707/markdown-how-to-start-with-it
    this might help you to display correct code in the forum.

• @Lazar-Demin