We have upgraded the community system as part of the upgrade a password reset is required for all users before login in.

USB flashing error USB - ERROR: CTL:TIMEOUT

• I am compiling Omega2+ software and I made a few changes that caused a kernel panic. So I am trying to flash back to stock using USB flashing method. It will detect the USB drive in the bootloader and start reading the file but it will error out with a timeout. The other post I found has a solution of custom firmware that fixes it but due to my issue of not being able to boot this is not feasible. I have tried at least 5 different USB drive all from different manufactures with the same end result. The drive is partitioned to only have a single 1GB partition formatted to FAT32 with omega2.bin being the firmware filename.

Any assistance to get this working would be appreciated. In the meantime I have ordered ethernet expansion to do a web recovery.

• How r u @jmztaylor !

I am a newbie, although I have already 4 years with my Onion2, but I was saving it for a special project.

I started the configuration process for the first time and now I think I damaged the firmware, I could not flash it from the USB either, as soon as I have a solution I will gladly let you know.

Greetings.

• @jmztaylor This is a known issue, you can see it here in the Onion repo:

https://github.com/OnionIoT/omega2-bootloader/issues/4

The solution is to update the bootloader which requires the ethernet expansion.

I do have a workaround but there is no guarantee this will work in your case, but I have successfully used it several times.

The issue reported above is apparently due to the firmware image size when it is loaded from USB so if we can load the image from an alternative source then we can overcome the issue.

You need to be connected to the serial console and have your USB key inserted to do this.